Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Key Journal Databases
JSTOR contains the full text of journals, usually from their beginning up to about 5 years ago. For more recent years, links to the full text of articles on external sites is often given. Subjects covered include ecology, economics, education, finance, history, language and literature, mathematics and statistics, philosophy, sociology, anthropology, politics and population studies.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
MLA International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography gives details of most journal articles and books on modern languages and literatures (including English) from the 1920s to the present. It also has details of many journal articles and books on linguistics, folklore and film. It does not include book reviews. It is part of the Proquest Social Sciences and Humanities Database Service. It can be searched individually or in combination with other Proquest Social Sciences and Humanities Databases. BHI (British Humanities Index) can also be useful.
Web of Science
A scientific citation indexing service that provides a comprehensive citation search. It gives access to multiple databases that reference cross-disciplinary research, which allows for in-depth exploration of specialised sub-fields within an academic or scientific discipline.
Finding Articles & Print Journals
Finding Journal Articles
All journals that we pay for are listed on iFind, the library catalogue. If you have a reference on a reading list etc. you can go straight to iFind and do a 'Journal Title' search for the journal. iFind also includes details of individual articles - click on the Articles & more tab to search these. If you want to search for articles on a particular topic select 'anywhere in the record'. If you want to search for a specific article, select 'in the title' and enter the title of the article. You can also search for articles by a particular author, select 'as author/creator' to do this. Note: Your results will include articles from newspapers as well as from journals.
Even though you can use iFind to locate journal articles on a topic or by a particular author, if you want to carry out a more thorough search it is better to use electronic databases. Some of these databases (e.g. JSTOR) contain full-text articles, while others (e.g Web of Science) contain only a citation (or record) and abstract (a summary) of the article. In this case, you will often see a 'iGetIt@Swansea University' link which you can click on to see if we hold the article here. You can try this online exercise to the right to sharpen your search skills and get you looking for journal articles.
Most English Literature and Linguistics journals (in print for) can be found in the ranges P and PR on Level 1 West.