Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding journal articles
Journals are usually published on a regular basis, such as weekly, monthly or quarterly and each issue contains a collection of articles by different authors usually reporting the latest research. You can find all the journals we subscribe to using iFind, the library catalogue.
Journals will be very important to use during your studies, they will provide you with high quality, reliable and up-to-date information. Using articles in assignments will demonstrate you have read widely on your topic. The main way to search for journal articles on your topic is to use a bibliographic database. A database is simply just an organized collection of information or data. Swansea University pay for access to 100s of high quality databases to help you find the best and most up-to-date information for your research. The main databases we recommend are below but remember each database will have different content so it's best to use more than one database to make sure you get all the information you need!
Box of Broadcasts (BoB)
Box of Broadcasts (BoB)
Box of Broadcasts (BoB) - a huge library of over 2 million TV and radio programmes and feature films that have been broadcast by BBC, ITV, Ch4, Ch5 and over 70 other channels. Create playlists to watch later or edit clips and embed in your presentations.
ACM Digital Library
The ACM Digital Library s a research, discovery and networking platform that contains the full-text collection of all ACM publications, a collection of curated and hosted full-text publications from select publishers and the ACM guide to computing literature.
IEEE Xplore is a full text database giving access to all IEEE journals and most conference papers - useful for students in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
INSPEC covers physics, electronics and electrical engineering, and computing and also includes some material of relevance to nanotechnology and materials. It covers journal articles and conference papers, plus significant books, technical reports, and dissertations. It is a well indexed database which is a good starting point for the physics, computing and electrical engineering.
Web of Science
A scientific citation indexing service that provides a comprehensive citation search. It gives access to multiple databases that reference cross-disciplinary research, which allows for in-depth exploration of specialised sub-fields within an academic or scientific discipline.
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources in the fields of Medicine, Social Sciences, Physical Sciences and Life Sciences. The database also provides information on citation analysis for specific articles, authors, and journal metrics.
Journal articles from the publisher Elsevier. Advanced search gives you the option to choose subscribed journals so that you only find results available to you immediately - useful for getting started on a topic.
Finding journal articles in computer science
The following short course will explain how to find journal articles in computer science. It should only take 5-10 minutes to complete. Click the image below to launch the course.
Troubleshooting online journals
Nearly all our electronic resources can be accessed off campus using your university username and password. However, it can sometimes be more difficult to find the correct route to login. The easiest solution is to look up the journal or database in iFind and follow the link there. This guide has screenshots showing how some of the major systems look off campus.
OpenGrey is an open access multidisciplinary database. It provides references for grey literature including theses, research reports and technical reports.
Explore our journals with BrowZine
Browzine can be accessed through the web or a dedicated app and allows you to browse, read and keep track of journals.