Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide highlights key library resources and information for your subject. Your library subject team can help you with finding information for assignments or research; accessing journals and databases; referencing; and using bibliographic software. Email, live chat or book an appointment to speak with us.
Your library subject team
Faculty of Science & Engineering librarians
Alasdair, Allison, Giles, Philippa & Susan.
Please check the library web site for the latest news about our opening hours and facilities.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The ACM Digital Library is a research, discovery and networking platform that contains the full-text collection of all ACM publications, a collection of curated and hosted full-text publications from select publishers and the ACM guide to computing literature.
Mae ACM Digital Library yn blatfform ymchwil, darganfod a rhwydweithio sy'n cynnwys casgliad testun llawn o holl gyhoeddiadau ACM, casgliad o gyhoeddiadau testun llawn, wedi'u curadu ac wedi'u cynnal gan gyhoeddwyr penodol a chanllaw i lenyddiaeth gyfrifiadura ACM.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore is a full text database giving access to all IEEE journals and most conference papers - useful for students in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
Inspec This link opens in a new window
INSPEC covers physics, electronics and electrical engineering, and computing and also includes some material of relevance to nanotechnology and materials. It covers journal articles and conference papers, plus significant books, technical reports, and dissertations. It is a well indexed database which is a good starting point for the physics, computing and electrical engineering.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A scientific citation indexing service that provides a comprehensive citation search. It gives access to multiple databases that reference cross-disciplinary research, which allows for in-depth exploration of specialised sub-fields within an academic or scientific discipline.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources in the fields of Medicine, Social Sciences, Physical Sciences and Life Sciences. The database also provides information on citation analysis for specific articles, authors, and journal metrics.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Journal articles from the publisher Elsevier. Advanced search gives you the option to choose subscribed journals so that you only find results available to you immediately - useful for getting started on a topic.
Library Skills Classes
See the full programme here.
Glossary of library terms
iFind, the Library catalogue
Take a look at our guides on how to use iFind, the library catalogue to search for books and other resources.
Your Reading list - iFind Reading
The reading list for your module is an essential source of revision material. You can find your module reading list by searching iFindReading or going to the reading list section of Canvas.