LibGuides: Operating Department Practice: Images

Free Image Sites

Awesome Stock Resources
A curated list of stock photography, video and illustration websites.
Read the specific terms and conditions of use. Many of the linked sites offer CCO (public domain) or Creative Commons works.

The Blue Diamond Gallery
The collection of free images that are available on this web site were created by Nicholas (Nick) Youngson of NYPhotographic.com and have been licensed by their owners RM Media Ltd under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike license for use on all types of sites including commercial web sites - please view license details under each image.

CC Search - Creative Commons
A Creative Commons webpage providing the ability to search for a range of different CC-licensed media.
CC Search Browser Extension Tool
Key Features of the CC Search Browser extension:
1. Search and filter CC-licensed content from the browser shortcut
2. One-click attribution
3. Download images (and attribution)
4. Bookmark images

Flickr Commons
Flickr Commons uses photography archives from many major institutions and collections including the British Library, National Library of Wales, National Library of Scotland, National Science and Media Museum and many more.

Search for your image, use the licence picker function (top left) to select the appropriate value from the drop down list, e.g. 'All creative commons'.

Participating institutions link to their Rights Statement from this page: https://www.flickr.com/commons/institutions/

Freedigitalphotos.net
When you download a free or purchased image from FreeDigitalPhotos.net you automatically receive the Standard Licence which allows you to use the image as an illustration for almost any business, personal, educational or charitable purpose. The image is yours to use anywhere in the world as many times as you need and for as long as you want.

Acknowledgement - we suggest that you use a format like this: Image courtesy of [name of the image creator] at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Freepik - Graphic Resources
Find Free Vectors, Stock Photos, PSD and Icons.
Licence details are available on each image. Generally free for personal and commercial purpose with attribution. Some images are only available with a premium (paid) subscription.

Advanced Image Search
Search for your image using the 'usage rights' filter. You can select 'free to use or share', 'free to use, share or modify' etc.

Can you be sure that the person uploading the image to the internet is the rights owner? Use google images with caution.

Iconmonstr - Icon Collections
A source of simple icons, all available for free.

License Agreement

Licensee may use the Work in non-commercial and commercial projects, services or products without attribution.

Nappy Stock Photos

Culturally diverse photos of black and brown people.

Licence conditions

All photos posted on Nappy are licensed under the Creative Commons Zero (CC0)

Pexels
Licence: All photos and videos on Pexels can be downloaded and used for free

Photos For Class
Find images that are available to be used in the classroom and for educational purposes.

Images use Creative Commons licensing via Flickr and Pixabay. Images can be filtered by age appropriate images and include automatic citation.

Pixabay
Images are made available under a CC0 Creative Commons Licence

unDraw Illustrations
Open-source illustrations

A constantly updated design project with SVG images that you can use completely free and without attribution. You can use the illustrations in any project - commercial or personal.
Use the 'Browse' function.

Unsplash
All photos published on Unsplash can be used for free. You can use them for commercial and noncommercial purposes. You do not need to ask permission from or provide credit to the photographer or Unsplash, although it is appreciated when possible.

Wilkimedia Commons
A Creative Commons webpage providing the ability to search for a range of different CC-licensed media.

WOC in Tech
Women of Color in Tech
Images available under a Creative Commons Attribution Licence. Credit #WOCinTechChat

Where does your image come from?

TinEye Reverse Image Search
Find the source of an image you find on the internet.
This reverse image search engine is useful for tracking image use across multiple sites.

Specialised Image Sites

Image by raphaelsilva from Pixaby

Click on a tab to select an image resource

You will see:

a hyperlink to visit the website;
a short description of the resource at the bottom of the panel;
and a list of associated re-use conditions and acknowledgement statements where they are available.
Always check applicable terms and conditions for each site.

Anatomy & Physiology Teaching and Learning Image Bank
This University of Minnesota Image Bank permits reuse of images for educational purposes.
Attribution is required.

Images are from The Sourcebook of Medical Illustration (The Parthenon Publishing Group, P. Cull, ed., 1989) and are copyright-free as long as they are used for educational purposes.

ART UK
Art UK is the online home for every public art collection in the UK. Images are made available for enjoyment, learning and research.

Images and data associated with the artworks featured on the Art UK website may be reproduced under the terms of any relevant Creative Commons licence (details of which will be included in the 'How you can use this image' section on the relevant artwork page) and/or for non-commercial research and private study purposes, as well as other uses permitted under the Copyright, Designs and Patents Act 1988, as amended and revised.

Gallica
The Gallica pages, part of the website of the Bibliothèque Nationale de France, give access to a vast collection of digitised texts and images covering the period from the Middle Ages onwards. Subjects covered include philosophy, law, economics and politics as well as history and literature. The Web site provides chronologies of the periods alongside thematic pages with links to related works. Alternatively, you can use the online catalogue to search for particular works, or by subject. A selection of dictionaries is also available as are a number of themed collections or dossiers and some audio resources. The Web site and most of the texts are in French, but there is also a selection of texts in other languages.
more...less...
Non-commercial use of digitized documents held by the BnF is open and free of charge, as long as the document and website source are attributed clearly with document title, date/issue and institution/website. To find this information in Gallica, use the info tab (i) in the left hand menu next to your chosen image.

Biodiversity Heritage Library
Inspiring discovery through free access to biodiversity knowledge.

Check individual image permissions. Most images are CC0 public domain.

Pre-Raphaelite Online Resource
Images can be used by schools, higher education and further education students and employees for uses connected with education. These include:
unpublished essays, project work and dissertations, lectures, course handouts and presentations.

Britain from Above
Users must register.
The Britain from Above website features images from the Aerofilms collection, a unique aerial photographic archive of international importance. The collection includes 1.26 million negatives and more than 2000 photograph albums. Dating from 1919 to 2006, the total collection presents an unparalleled picture of the changing face of Britain in the 20th century. It includes the largest and most significant number of air photographs of Britain taken before 1939.

The images, information and data featured on this website are subject to Crown Copyright and other Intellectual Property Rights held by the Partners and Individual Contributors as indicated.

British Cartoon Archive
The British Cartoon Archive is dedicated to the history of British cartooning over the last two hundred years. The BCA holds the artwork for over 200,000 British editorial, socio-political, and pocket cartoons, supported by large collections of comic strips, newspaper cuttings, books and magazines.

Educational use including teaching activities, using the images in student essays, presentations, restricted audience seminars and conference papers is allowed with appropriate attribution. See the FAQ section for further details.

British Library Online Gallery
The major research library in the UK shares images of it's collection online via the online exhibition site and selected images via Flickr Commons.

The British Museum Collection online
The majority of the images are made available for anyone to use for free under a Creative Commons NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 license. Users no longer need to register to use these photographs, and can now download them directly from the British Museum.

Under the terms of the Creative Commons CC-BY-NC-SA 4.0 license, you are free to share and adapt the images for non-commercial use, but must include a credit to the British Museum.

DermNet NZ - Dermatology Image Library
All watermarked images are free for use for education, teaching and other purposes, provided you abide by the image licence: https://dermnetnz.org/image-licence/
Please retain the watermark and acknowledge the source, DermNet NZ.

Digital Public Library of - Image Search
"DPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format." An image rights statement can be found by clicking on the 'Full item' and scrolling to the 'Rights' section. Most items are made publicly available by the collection-holding partners for use in research, teaching, and private study.

EHSL - HEAL Collection
An image rights statement can be found by clicking on the individual image and scrolling to the bottom of the page.

Attribution required. The site uses a variety of Creative Commons Licenses.

IAN Image Library
Ecosystems, Fauna, Flora, Human, Processes, Prokaryotes & Viruses.

The IAN/UMCES Symbol and Image Libraries are provided completely cost and royalty free for any use, with attribution, except redistribution or sales. Required Attribution: Author Name, Integration and Application Network, University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science (ian.umces.edu/imagelibrary/).

IWM Collections Online
Explore around 800,000 items that tell the story of modern war and conflict, collected by the museum since 1917. The IWM makes certain images available under the terms of the IWM non-commercial licence.

To find out more, please visit 'Collections Search' and right click on an image or check for a link to "share and reuse" the item. The reuse licence is denoted by © IWM or © Crown Copyright: IWM.

injurymap.com (Free Human Anatomy Images and Pictures)
This resource is aimed at helping anyone within the medical community with illustrations for articles, blogs, assignments, and posters. The high-quality vector images of the human anatomy are available to everyone who wants to use them, free of charge.

These images are licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 4.0 International license. Please include the attribution link on your page when you use one of the images. The images can be downloaded in high-quality .jpg and .svg file formats to suit your specific needs.

Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Image galleries include photos, video and infographics.

Use a credit line with images. Unless otherwise noted in the caption information for an image, the credit line should be "Courtesy NASA/JPL-Caltech.

Library of Congress Image Sets
Items from the Library's digital collections that are free to use and reuse. The Library believes that this content is either in the public domain, has no known copyright, or has been cleared by the copyright owner for public use. Each set of content is based on a theme and is first featured on the Library's home page. Whenever possible, each collection has its own rights statement which should be consulted for guidance on use.

Macaulay Library
The Macaulay Library is the world’s premier scientific archive of natural history audio, video, and photographs. Although the Macaulay Library’s history is rooted in birds, the collection includes amphibians, fishes, and mammals, and the collection preserves recordings of each species’ behavior and natural history.

Access to audio and video recordings in the archive is available for research, educational, and commercial use.

Medical Graphics
Free medical illustrations available under Creative Commons License.
The images shown in the section "free pictures" are available under the Creative Commons license "Attribution-No Derivative Works" . The illustrations can be used free of charge for commercial purposes. However, the illustrations are not free of rights, the usage is permitted under the following conditions:

a. You must attribute www.MedicalGraphics.de as author and specify the license
(CC BY-ND 4.0).
b. Modifications of the illustrations is not permitted, including the removal of our logo/URL.
c. If you use the illustration onliine we would appreciate a link to our website.
d. Direct links to illustrations are permitted with attribution to the site.

Medical Image Library
This site offers a huge collection of links and information related to a variety of medical image resources.
Read associated terms and conditions for the particular resource.

ASM Microbe Image Gallery
The Gallery is a collection of images, videos, and animations that can be used to enhance lecture or lab presentations.

PERMISSION FOR CLASSROOM INSTRUCTION/NON-COMMERCIAL USE
'The American Society for Microbiology grants the public non exclusive rights to copy, distribute, adapt or display under a Creative Commons Attribution – Noncommercial – NoDerivatives 4.0 International license (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/4.0/). This license permits end users to use and reproduce, but not modify, images from the Image Gallery, Visual Media Brief collection, Laboratory Protocols, or Curriculum Archive in classroom instruction and other non-commercial uses'.

National Cancer Institute (NCI)
Each image or illustration included in the NCI Visuals Online Web site is labelled "Public Domain" (free to use) or "Copyright Protected" (restricted, obtain permission before use).

Most of the images available in this library are in the public domain and are not subject to copyright restrictions. No special permission is required to use or reproduce public domain images. However, ANY reproduced images should acknowledge NCI as the originator, the NCI Web site, www.cancer.gov, as the source and/or the image creator.

The source can be cited as: The Web site of the National Cancer Institute (https://www.cancer.gov).

The National Gallery
Many images on The National Gallery's website are licensed for non-commercial use under a Creative Commons agreement for research, private study or for internal circulation within an educational organisation (such as a school, college or university). You can download images directly from the website; there is a download button beneath each image, which will begin to download after you have agreed to the terms of use.

The source of the material must be identified and the copyright status acknowledged.

MedPix
MedPix® is a free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenarios, 9,000 topics, and nearly 59,000 images.

MedPix Licence

"MedPix^® images and case materials were contributed by many individuals. They are organized, reviewed, approved, and curated free of charge for your personal use and for local teaching at your institution - including distribution of handouts and syllabi. For anything other than personal use, you should respect the original contributor and contact them for additional permission requests."

NASA Image & Video Library
This extensive resource provides image, audio, video, computer files and maps for educational or informational purposes. The general permission extends to using their content on personal web pages. NASA should be acknowledged as the source of the material. If any content provided by them is marked as copyright protected with the name of the copyright holder, permission must be obtained to use the material.

New York Public Library Digital Collections
The Library encourages use of materials from the NYPL Websites, provided that you follow these guidelines:

Low Resolution Files (Only Non-Commercial Uses Allowed). Materials downloaded from the NYPL Websites may only be used for personal, educational, or research purposes. They may not be used for commercial purposes.

Old Book Illustrations
Browse by Subject, Artist, Title, Illustration or Article.

Images are generally free of copyright restriction but check the terms of use for individual images. Accompanying text is made available under the terms of a Creative Commons Attribution-Non-Commercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Radiopedia
Radiopaedia.org is a rapidly growing, open-edit radiology resource, compiled by radiologists and other health professionals from across the globe.

Images are available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non-commercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.
Visit https://radiopaedia.org/licence

The Serving Soldier
The Serving Soldier: providing online access to unique original documents and photographs held by the Liddell Hart Centre for Military Archives at King's College London.
The site encourages the use of images in teaching and research: Please right click images to copy/save and embed in your classroom presentations.

CDC Public Health Image Library (PHIL)
Most images on this site are available for personal, professional and educational use in electronic or print form with appropriate attribution. Credit: CDC and the individual photographer if named.
However, not all images are available for reuse. Check the individual image licence statement for any applicable copyright restrictions.

Smithsonian Open Access Collection
Visit Smithsonian Open Access, where you can download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images. The collections include images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.

Licence: Creative Commons Zero (CC0)
For more information, see the Smithsonian Terms of Use via https://www.si.edu/termsofuse

University of California, San Diego Catalog of Clinical Images
This site is a visual educational resource dedicated to providing pictures that are representative of common and uncommon physical exam findings. Discussions of pathophysiology, diagnostics, and treatment are not included. View the "Links" to see selected related sites.
Educational use; attribution required.

VADS
Educational use only. Terms and Conditions apply:

'All material supplied via VADS is protected by copyright and other intellectual property rights, and duplication or sale of all or part of any of the Data Collections is not permitted, except that material may be duplicated by you for your research use or educational purposes in electronic or print form. You must obtain permission for any other use. Electronic or print copies may not be offered, whether for sale or otherwise to anyone who is not an authorised user.'

Wellcome Collections
Find thousands of freely licensed digital books, artworks, photos and images of historical library materials and museum objects.

Except where otherwise noted, content is made available under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 Licence (CC-BY). Please credit the Wellcome Collection.

WISC-Online Asset Repository
Free images, animations, audio, and video clips across seventeen learning activity categories ranging from STEM, Education & Training, Manufacturing, Finance, Marketing to Audio/Video Technology.

All content is available under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International Licence.
Credit: Wisc-Online by Fox Valley Technical College

WoRMS
The aim of a World Register of Marine Species (WoRMS) is to provide an authoritative and comprehensive list of names of marine organisms, including information on synonymy. While the highest priority goes to valid names, other names in use are included so that this register can serve as a guide to interpret taxonomic literature.

Images are available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non-commercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.

Operating Department Practice: Images

Finding & Using images

Free Image Sites

Where does your image come from?

Specialised Image Sites