LibGuides: Datasets in the Health and Medical Sciences: Health &amp; Medicine data sources

Major UK longitudinal datasets

Some of these datasets require payment for access:

Aberdeen Birth Cohorts
Longitudinal data following children born in Aberdeen in 1921, 1936 and 1950-1956.
ALSPAC
Avon Longitudinal Study of Parents and Children data collected since 1991 on women, their partners, their children born between 1991 and 1992 and on subsequent children.
Clinical Practice Research Datalink (CPRD)
Anonymised linked longitudinal primary care records for approximately 8% of the UK population. Can be linked to a wide variety of specialist datasets.
CLOSER studies
CLOSER brings together eight longitudinal studies conducted in the UK for health and social science research.
Healthcare Quality Improvement Partnership (HQIP)
Datasets from the UK National Clinical Audit and Patient Outcomes Programme (NCAPOP).
The Health Improvement Network (THIN)
Anonymised linked longitudinal primary care records for approximately 6% of the UK population. Can be linked to a wide variety of specialist datasets.
Health Survey for England
Data from health surveys conducted annually in England since 1991.
Hospital Episode Statistics (HES)
Anonymised inpatient, outpatient and accident & emergency admissions for NHS hospitals in England.
NHS Digital
Wide range of datasets from clinical audits and registries.
Primary Care Clinical Informatics Unit Research (PCCIU)
Anonymised longitudinal linked primary care data from Scotland.
QResearch
Anonymised longitudinal electronic healthcare records from 1500 general practices in the UK.
SAIL Databank
Anonymised longitudinal linked primary care data primarily from Wales.

Health research data sources

These data archives are recommended by major UK funding bodies and by journal publishers. For a full list of global health-related data archives see re3data or FAIRSharing.

Clinical Study Data Request
Website set up for sharing of data from clinical trials by request. This is not a data archive and does not openly publish the data from clinical trials.
FlowRepository
Online database of flow cytometry experiments.
ImmPort
The Immunology Database and Analysis Portal (ImmPort) archives and publishes data generated by NIAID / DAIT-funded (NIH) investigators including mechanistic assay data.
National Addiction & HIV Data Archive Program
Data archive (US-based) for data generated by studies investigating drug addiction or HIV.
National Database for Autism Research
NIH-funded data repository for data generated by studies of autism. Includes genetic, phenotypic, clinical and medical imaging data.
National Institute for Mental Health Data Archive
Informatics platform for sharing of data from clinical trials funded by the National Institute of Mental Health (US based).
PhysioNet
US-based data archive for clinical and physiological data.
UK Data Service health datasets
Datasets archived in the UK Data Service data archive that can be accessed and used for health research.

Imaging data

These data archives are recommended by major UK funding bodies and by journal publishers. For a full list of global clinical imaging data archives see re3data or FAIRSharing.

The Cancer Imaging Archive (TCIA)
Anonymised medical images of cancer from the US. Imaging data can be combined with patient outcomes, treatment details, genomics and expert analyses.
Functional Connectomes Project International Neuroimaging Data-Sharing Initiative (FCP/INDI)
Over 1200 resting state fMRI datasets from 33 sites across the world.
Image Data Resource
Database for searching, viewing and analysing complex, multidimensional life sciences image data.
OpenNeuro
Formerly OpenfMRI, a data archive of neuroimaging data.
SICAS Medical Image Repository
Repository of medical research data including medical images, surface models, clinical data and genomics data.

Datasets in the Health and Medical Sciences: Health & Medicine data sources

Health and Medicine data sources

Major UK longitudinal datasets

Health research data sources

Imaging data