Skip to main content

The Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SOTL): Literature Searching

Mae'r dudalen hon hefyd ar gael yn Gymraeg

LitSearch

Papers on teaching and learning may be published in (higher) education journals or in subject-specific journals. Research from one subject area may well be transferable to a different area so using Google Scholar will ensure you search a wide range of titles.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a massive collection of material, some of which will not be peer reviewed or of a high quality. However, it is a useful place to search for papers, particularly if you have some specific keywords (the search interface is not very precise). Google Scholar will often turn up free PDFs of papers. Using cited reference searching is also helpful: click on the "Cited By" link in a list of results to see papers that have cited the one you have found...

Search for Open Access articles

Open Access Button

Find free, legal, full-text open access articles

Open Access Button logo

 
Powered by Open Access Button

ERIC

Managing your references

We recommend using reference management software to organise, sort and reference when writing.

At Swansea University Libraries we support Endnote, both the online and desktop versions.

Both versions help you to store and organise your references and format them in Word.

 

When managing references the Centre for Reviews & Dissemination recommend the following:

1.3.1.8 Managing references

"Using bibliographic software such as EndNote, Reference Manager or ProCite to record and manage references will help in documenting the process, streamline document management and make the production of reference lists for reports and journal papers easier. EPPI-Reviewer, a web-based review management programme, also incorporates reference management functions. Alternatively it is possible to construct a database of references using a database package such as Microsoft Access or a word processing package. By creating a 'library' (database) of references, information can be shared by the whole review team, duplicated references can be identified and deleted more easily, and customised fields can be created where ordering decisions can be recorded.Specialised bibliographic management software packages have the facility to import references from electronic databases into the library and interact with word processing packages so bibliographies can be created in a variety of styles."

University of York, NHS Centre for Reviews & Dissemination. (2009). Systematic reviews: CRD's guidance for undertaking reviews in health care. York: CRD.

Proquest Education

EPPI-Centre

Systematic Reviews

Sage Research Methods