Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the English Library Subject Guide.
Your subject librarians are here to help you. We can help you find information, use library resources, undertake research and reference correctly. You can also contact us with anything library related.
The Culture & Communication Librarians
Hello, we are Sean Barr (Academic Liaison Librarian), Bernie Williams (Subject Librarian), Sian Neilson (Subject Librarian), and Carine Harston (Subject Librarian). We are here to help with finding information, using databases, referencing or anything else to do with the library.
Please check the library web site for the latest news about our opening hours and facilities.
Library Skills Classes
See the full programme here.
Literature Online This link opens in a new window
With over a third of a million full-text works of poetry, prose and drama in English, together with the definitive online criticism and reference library, Literature Online is the world's largest cross-searchable database of literature and criticism.
ProQuest One Literature This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Literature One is a new database replacing Literature Online. It contains all of Literature Online’s content and adds even more content, including a wider and more diverse focus. It has much more criticism and you can keep all your saves from your Literature Online account seamlessly.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR contains the full text of journals, usually from their beginning up to about 5 years ago. For more recent years, links to the full text of articles on external sites is often given. Subjects covered include ecology, economics, education, finance, history, language and literature, mathematics and statistics, philosophy, sociology, anthropology, politics and population studies.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Muse gives us the full text of recent years of about 150 high quality peer-reviewed journals
in the Humanities. A very high proportion are concerned with literature. It also provides access to several hundred freely available ebooks.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography gives details of most journal articles and books on modern languages and literatures (including English) from the 1920s to the present. It also has details of many journal articles and books on linguistics, folklore and film. It does not include book reviews.
International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The international Medieval Bibliography is the leading interdisciplinary bibliography of the Middle Ages (400-1500). It provides details of over 300,000 articles published between 1967 and the present in journals, conference proceedings and essay collections.
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
The Times Archive provides the entire Times newspaper, from its beginning in 1785 up to 2014, including articles, photographs, letters and advertisements.
Oxford English dictionary (Online) This link opens in a new window
This contains the full text of the twenty-volume second edition together with the New Edition which is in progress. Every three months new and revised entries from the OED's revision programme will be published as part of the growing New Edition. Many types of searches are possible: it is easy, for instance, to search the 2,400,000 quotations. Original 2nd ed also available in print form.