Journals are usually published on a regular basis, such as weekly, monthly or quarterly and each issue contains a collection of articles by different authors usually reporting the latest research. You can find all the journals we subscribe to using iFind, the library catalogue.
Journals will be very important to use during your studies, they will provide you with high quality, reliable and up-to-date information. Using articles in assignments will demonstrate you have read widely on your topic. The main way to search for journal articles on your topic is to use a bibliographic database. A database is simply just an organized collection of information or data. Swansea University pay for access to 100s of high quality databases to help you find the best and most up-to-date information for your research. The main databases we recommend are below but remember each database will have different content so it's best to use more than one database to make sure you get all the information you need!
Starting Out: Try using the Articles & more option in Ifind. Use the side bar to narrow down your search results to journals. You can also narrow by date of publication. It's easy to use and will link to the full-text of the article if available.
Moving up: As you progress, you will need to use bibliographic databases . Certain databases will be best for different aspects of Childhood Studies. Look at the list of Databases to find out which. You will need to learn how best to search these. Look at our Literature Searching section.
Literature Reviews: If you are doing a literature review, you will need to have well-developed searching skills. Your librarian can help if you get a bit stuck or need advice on how to write up your search methods. It is also possible at this stage that some articles you need may not be available from our Library. When this happens, you can use our Inter Library Loan service; they will obtain a copy of the article for you.
Doing your own research project: The Library has countless books on doing research. Also available is Sage Research Methods, a research methods tool, linking SAGE's research methods content with search tools to help researchers answer their research methods questions.