Skip to main content

Systematic Reviews: Managing search results

Mae'r dudalen hon hefyd ar gael yn Gymraeg

Document Supply services - getting hold of elusive papers

If you find papers in you literature search that are not available via subscription by Swansea University Libraries you can submit an inter-library loan request to obtain copies of the papers from other sources. See the Document Supply web pages for details on how to apply, cost involved etc.

Managing your references

We recommend using reference management software to organise, sort and reference when writing.

At Swansea University Libraries we support Endnote, both the online and desktop versions.

Both versions help you to store and organise your references and format them in Word.

 

When managing references the Centre for Reviews & Dissemination recommend the following:

1.3.1.8 Managing references

"Using bibliographic software such as EndNote, Reference Manager or ProCite to record and manage references will help in documenting the process, streamline document management and make the production of reference lists for reports and journal papers easier. EPPI-Reviewer, a web-based review management programme, also incorporates reference management functions. Alternatively it is possible to construct a database of references using a database package such as Microsoft Access or a word processing package. By creating a 'library' (database) of references, information can be shared by the whole review team, duplicated references can be identified and deleted more easily, and customised fields can be created where ordering decisions can be recorded.Specialised bibliographic management software packages have the facility to import references from electronic databases into the library and interact with word processing packages so bibliographies can be created in a variety of styles."

University of York, NHS Centre for Reviews & Dissemination. (2009). Systematic reviews: CRD's guidance for undertaking reviews in health care. York: CRD.

Documenting your literature search

PRISMA recommends description of  all information sources in the search (e.g., databases with dates of coverage, contact with study authors to identify additional studies or data) and date last searched along with the full electronic search strategy for at least one major database, including any limits used, such that it could be repeated.

 

When documenting the search the Centre for Reviews & Dissemination recommend the following:

1.3.1.10 Documenting the search

"The search process should be reported in sufficient detail so that it could be re-run at a later date. The easiest way to document the search is to record the process and the results contemporaneously. The decisions reached during development and any changes or amendments made should be recorded and explained. It is important to record all searches, including Internet searches, handsearching and contact with experts.

Providing the full detail of searches helps future researchers to re-run or update the searches and enables readers to evaluate the thoroughness of searching. The write up of the search should include information about the databases and interfaces searched (including the dates covered), full detailed search strategies (including any justifications for date or language restrictions) and the number of records retrieved.

When systematic reviews are reported in journal articles, limits on the word count may make it impossible to provide full details of the searches. In these circumstances as much information as possible should be provided within the available space. For example, ‘We searched MEDLINE, EMBASE and CINAHL’ is more helpful to the reader than ‘We conducted computer searches’. Many journals now have an electronic version of the publication where the full search details can be provided. Alternatively, the published report can include the review team’s contact details so full details of the search strategies can be requested. If a detailed report is being written for the commissioners of the review, the full search details should be included."

University of York, NHS Centre for Reviews & Dissemination. (2009). Systematic reviews: CRD's guidance for undertaking reviews in health care. York: CRD.

 

Saving & updating searches

Systematic review software