Skip to main content

Management: Academic staff

Library support for School of Management staff and students

Support from you subject team

The library is here to support you and your students. Naomi Prady is your Academic Liaison Librarian, providing a channel of communication and contact for all library matters. Giles and Philippa are your subject librarians. You are always welcome to contact the team at buslib@swansea.ac.uk.

Training for academic staff: renew your information skills at the library.

The information landscape in constantly changing, not only for your students but for you as well. With this in mind we have put together a series of training sessions designed to make sure that you are aware of resources and services that are new or that have changed recently.

Let us know if you would like a training session which is not listed here.

If you you are unable to attend a session that you would find useful please let us know as we could send you information or arrange a one-to-one appointment.

Y Cranc - our twice yearly library bulletin and report for School of Management staff.

Teaching information and research skills

A crucial role of subject librarians is to provide information skills teaching. This ensures that library users have the skills required to find good quality information sources. The more information skills teaching can be tailored to a particular module and integrated with their coursework, the more students are likely to see it as relevant to their needs. We regularly offer classes on

  • Literature searching
  • Finding specific types of information (market research, company financial data etc.)
  • Referencing
  • EndNote

We find these classes most effective when tailored to a particular project and delivered in a PC room so that students can practice what we are teaching them. However, we are willing to be work with you to fit these skills into your modules and can be flexible, perhaps offering 10 minute briefings in a lecture room if that is all you have time for. 

If you would like to arrange one of the above (or any other) teaching sessions please get in touch to discus how we can best support your students.

We are also happy to give help and advice to students on an individual basis. Students can book an appointment by contact us via buslib@swansea.ac.uk

Collection Development

Ordering books (print or online)

If you would like any books to be added to the library collection to support your teaching or your own research, please email us at buslib@swansea.ac.uk . Please include the following information:

  • Whether for research or for a taught module
  • Module code and number of students
  • Whether the book title will be recommended reading or background reading
  • Brief book details such as author, title, publisher and edition.

Loan periods: A book is usually made Normal Loan unless a different period is specified, such as One Week Loan or Library Use Only.

Arrival time: Typical arrival time for UK items is approximately 3-4 weeks; overseas material normally takes longer. Lecturers requiring new books also need to allow time for the library to process and catalogue them ready for borrowing.

E-books: We will always check to see if it's possible to purchase a Library edition of an e-book, i.e a version that is accessible to multiple users via the library catalogue, iFind. We will communicate with you about this to discuss your preferences.

Library location: All books ordered from the library funds for SoM will be kept in the Bay Library, unless the Singleton Park library is requested.

In order to ensure that funds are spent by the end of the financial year in July, it is advisable to submit all book orders by the end of May. Any books which have not arrived by the end of July will be charged to a College’s subject allocation for the following year.

How are journals purchased?

Swansea University subscribes to 1000s of journal titles.  Journal subscriptions fall into two categories: (i) Collections; (ii) Individual titles.

(i) E-journal collections:  Most are purchased from academic publishers such as Wiley, Elsevier, Springer, Oxford University Press and Sage.  Some are purchased as subject collections such as EBSCO Business Source Complete or ProQuest Business Collection.  These large collections are usually funded from the Library's general fund.

(ii) Individual institutional subscriptions.   SoM subscribes to about 48 individual subscriptions. Journal subscriptions are reviewed annually in August/September.  This year the deadline for cancelling  2017 journal subscriptions is 16th Sept 2016.  Decisions on cancellations are usually made jointly by the School's Library reps and the Library's subject team for SoM, based on annual usage statistics.   New subscriptions can be started at any time, funds permitting. Let us know if you would like to cancel or start a subscription and we will discuss with your library representatives.  These journals are funded by the Library's subject fund for School of Management.

Database subscriptions

The following databases are subscribed to from Library funds for SoM:

EBSCO Business Source Complete

FAME (Financial Analysis Made Easy) - UK company financial data

Bankscope (Banking data)

Zephyr (Mergers & Acquisitions, Deals)

Marketline (market research reports, company profiles and industry reports)

Mintel (market research reports)

Wiley International Financial Reporting Standards

Datastream Advance (economic and financial data).

 

Requesting a new database.

Database subscriptions are very costly so the decision to proceed is taken with care, usually following a trial period where feedback is gathered. The Library's preference is for databases which have a JISC or  CHEST EduServ licence agreement which ensures:

  1. A reduced academic price, based on FTE student numbers of a university.

  2. Campus-wide simultaneous logins

  3. Open Athens (or similar) authentication system

  4. Transparent and helpful training and support

  5. Favourable terms and conditions

  6. Provision of usage statistics

  7. Accessibility standards

If you would like the Library staff to set up a database trial or request pricing information, please email buslib@swansea.ac.uk .

The wish-list is a method of quantifying support for a new subscription.

Access and add to our wishlist at http://libguides.swansea.ac.uk/somwishlist. You will need a password to access page., which you can request by emailing buslib@swansea.ac.uk.

The Library's financial year runs from 1st August to 31st July.

An overview of funds

1. Library's General Materials Fund - this is used for multi-disciplinary resources such as e-journal collections and databases such as Scopus and Web of Science.

2. Library's Multiple Copies funds -  there is a Multiple Copies fund for each school or college. This fund is used for extra copies of key texts and for e-books.

3. Library's Subject funds - there is a subject fund for each school or college.  This is used for subject-specific books, journals, databases and other online resources.

Loading

School of Management Library representatives

Each College or School has library representatives who liaise with their academic colleagues and the Library subject team.

The Library reps for the School of Management are:

Business Economics Accounting & Finance
Dr Sam Buxton Dr Mo Tian Dr Hussein Halabi 

S.L.Buxton@swansea.ac.uk

M.Tian@swansea.ac.uk

Hussein.Halabi@Swansea.ac.uk

 

Reading lists

The iFind Reading service allows staff to create and manage reading lists in one place, and will then present the list in your module's blackboard pages, the module catalogue and module maintenance.

Students will gain easy access to reading lists within their Blackboard modules, with active links to recommended reading and online resources.

In addition the iFind Reading software allows you to add Tags (so you can add helpful comments  for your students) and also organize the book titles into sections: Essential, Recommended, Background.

Journal article references are best added manually - please email buslib@swansea.ac.uk for help with this.

The document below talks you through creating and populating a reading list.

Supporting your research

As well as the expert knowledge in our subject teams, The library also has dedicated Research Librarians who work across all subject areas (in collaboration with the library subject teams) supporting research skills and systems:

Contact them: iss-research@swansea.ac.uk

Visit their website: http://www.swan.ac.uk/iss/researchsupport

Follow their blog: http://researchnews.wordpress.com

Follow them on Twitter: @SULibResSupport

We support researchers in using the University’s Research Information System (RIS) which feeds into Cronfa (the University’s repository). This is required for PDRs, the REF as well as compliance with the university’s open access policy and to feed into staff web pages. We can provide training or troubleshooting.

Access RIS at http://ris.swansea.ac.uk or via http://home.swan.ac.uk

Search Cronfa: http://cronfa.swan.ac.uk

We also provide support with open access policies and queries, particularly with funder requirements for open access and the new policy governing the next REF.

We can advise on copyright issues, including those related to the use of Creative Commons licenses (which may be required by funders).

ISS also administer the RCUK funding to pay Article Processing Charges. Contact APC.Swansea@swansea.ac.uk if you wish to request payment of an APC or would like more information on eligibility.

Loading