Skip to main content

Management: other publications

How to find official publications

All official bodies publish large amounts of information: records of meetings, annual reports, statistics, reports, books and journals designed to inform the public. These guides will help you to find the official information that you need. There are useful web links below.

These links will help you to find documents and information from the devolved nations of the UK. You may also find it useful to check the guide to British Official Publications under the UK tab.

Websites to help you find information and publications with an international perspective.

Loading

How to find reference material

For quick access to reliable facts use reference resources such as dictionaries and encyclopaedias.

The library provides access to as wide range of reference materials, both in print and online. You can find them by searching iFind.

Here are some of the most useful reference resources for Management students.

Is it OK to use Wikipedia?

Wikipedia is an online encyclopaedia. Anyone can created and edited information on Wikipedia. When you search the internet Wikipedia pages often appear towards the top of the search results. Like any encyclopaedia,  Wikipedia can be useful for getting an initial understanding of a subject, but you should not rely it to get information for your assignments. The person marking your assignment wants to see references to books, journal articles and other subject specific information sources that show that you have read widely and developed a good understanding of the topic.

How to find dissertations and theses

The following short course will explain how to find dissertations and theses.  Click the image below to launch the course.

Alternatively click on the tabs above to find out how to use the specific resources.

The Library holds all Swansea University theses at doctorate level and some masters. We do not usually keep third year projects or dissertations. Most of our dissertations are kept in the library at Singleton Park Campus, but they can be sent to Bay Library for you to look at there. Use the Request option on iFind or ask at the Library Desk for help. The dissertations are for reference use only, so they must not be taken out of the library.

We have chosen seven MSc dissertations to keep in Bay Library so that you can access them more easily. Ask for them at the Information Desk if you would like to see how to structure your project with chapters on the Literature Review and Methodology. The dissertations available are:-

Aljarbou, M., (2013). Financial liberalisation in developing countries : A quantile analysis of BRICS and GCC-T countries. Swansea University, School of Management MSc dissertation.

Berkemeyer, F., (2010). Retention of low-skilled workers in an upscale German hotel : An exploration of management belief about factors minimising voluntary resignation. Swansea University. School of Business & Economics. 

Du, S., (2010). Paradoxes of Chinese manager's success : A study of the cultural experiences of women managers in Chinese SMEs.  Swansea University. School of Business & Economics.

Jha, A., (2013). The role of human resource practices and competitive advantage : The case of Tata Steel Limited-India. Swansea University, School of Management MSc dissertation.

Morgan, C., (2013). An examination of financial planning and client referrals. Swansea University, School of Management MSc dissertation.

Norman, J., (2011). Waste management and public consultation in Guernsey. Swansea University. School of Business & Economics MSc dissertation.

Raphael, O., (2011). Multinational companies and the transfer of HRM practices : A case study of a multinational company in the brewing industry. Swansea University, School of Business & Economics MSc dissertation.

Proquest Dissertations and Theses is a searchable database of Masters and PhD-level dissertations and theses from universities around the world. Most of the dissertations within this resource are available full-text and downloadable.

The Proquest search screen is simple and intuitive. Just type your keywords into the search box to find results. Selecting the Full Text option on the left of the screen enables you to limit your results to full PDF version.

It is also worth using the Advanced Search screen within this resource. Options, including limiting by university, to a specific language(s) or finding results within a particular date range.

EThOS has been created to offer a single point of access to UK theses and plays a significant role in showcasing UK research to the world.  EThOS, which is hosted by the British Library, has  more than 100 UK universities involved in the project and can offer an ever expanding range of titles as full text downloads.

Search the EThOS catalogue here.

If an item you require is already in EThOS then it is immediately available for download to your desktop free of charge; if not, then you can choose to purchase a scanned copy from EThOS.

Loading

How to find newspaper articles

The following short course will explain how to find newspaper articles.  Click the image below to launch the course.

Alternatively click on the tabs to find the links directly to newspaper resources.

Finding newspaper articles tutorial

The Financial Times, one of the world’s leading business news organisations, is recognised internationally for its authority, integrity and accuracy. It provides essential news, comment, data and analysis for the global business community.

Make sure that you get full access to articles, comments, alerts and tools available from the FT. Go to www.ft.com and register using your Swansea University email address.

There is a guide available from FT.com.

NexisUK is a database of international quality newspapers including the Times, Guardian, Independent, Le Monde, Die Zeit, Australasian Business Intelligence, International Herald Tribune, South China Morning Post, Moscow Times. It contains newspapers from the early 1990s to the present.

Why use it?

  • The user can cross-search several newspapers at once.
  • The databases provide full text articles free of change, no need to register.
  • The user can easily limit a search by journalist's name, language, country or a single newspaper title.

The Economist is a weekly magazine covering business, finance, economics, science, technology and the arts. Articles from The Economist can be found in the ProQuest Business Collection.

As well as containing articles from the Economist ProQuest Business Collection provides access to other news items. Search using your keywords then refine by 'Source Type' on the right hand side of the results page.

Loading

How to find conference proceedings

The following short course will explain how to find conference proceedings. It should only take 5-10 minutes to complete. Click the image below to launch the course.

Finding Conference Proceedings short course

How to find NBER Working Papers

WISERD research reports

WISERD is the Wales Institute of Social and Economic Research, Data & Methods. The Institute is a collaborative venture between the Universities of AberystwythBangorCardiff, South Wales and Swansea.  You can access their research reports here.