Skip to main content

Management: journal articles

Why use journal articles

You may think you can get all the information you need from textbooks and websites, but it's a good idea to include  journal articles in your research too.

Journals are made up of collections of articles and publishes regularly on a continuing basis (usually weekly, monthly, quarterly or annually). A journal normally focuses on a specific topic. Journals provide information that is:

  • Timely – journals are published more often than books, as a result you will find up-to-date information in recent journals
  • Concise – articles in journals are shorter to read than books
  • Authoritative – articles are written by experts (either academics or professionals).  Peer reviewed journals contain articles which have been  examined and reviewed by the editorial board of the journal to ensure the research is sound, accurate and robust before the article is published.

Journals at Swansea University normally cover academic topics and we pay for you to have access to 1000s of journal titles across all subject areas.

Where to find journal articles

iFind is a good place to start your search for journal articles.

You'll find more relevant results if you search specialist  journal article databases.

An example search in Business Source Complete

An example search in ProQuest Business Collection

Slide with information about a search strategy. Click on the image for a document containing the full text of all the slides in the gallery of images.
Slide with information about search terms. Click on the image for a document containing the full text of all the slides in the gallery of images.
Slide with information about search terms. Click on the image for a document containing the full text of all the slides in the gallery of images.
Slide with information about getting fewer results. Click on the image for a document containing the full text of all the slides in the gallery of images.
Slide with information about getting more results. Click on the image for a document containing the full text of all the slides in the gallery of images.
Slide with information about evaluating your results. Click on the image for a document containing the full text of all the slides in the gallery of images.
Slide with information about evaluating your results. Click on the image for a document containing the full text of all the slides in the gallery of images.
Slide with information about staying organised. Click on the image for a document containing the full text of all the slides in the gallery of images.

Browse journals

Beyond Swansea University

Visiting other libraries

You may wish to visit other university libraries:

  1. Either for convenience because they're close to your home town
  2. Or because they hold specialist collections.

Swansea University is a member of the SCONUL Access scheme.  This allows academic staff,  postgraduate research students, full-time postgraduates, part-time, distance learning or placement students to borrow from other Higher Education libraries across the UK who are members of the scheme.  This guide explains how you can join the SCONUL Access scheme.  

Borrowing from other libraries.

You don't need to visit other libraries in order to borrow items which are not in stock at Swansea University.

Request any books or journal articles through our Inter-library loan service.