Skip to main content

Management: Advanced Research

Library support for School of Management staff and students

Getting started with Advanced Research

This section will be useful to any student who wants to dig deeper to find more in-depth information whether for an Undergraduate or Masters dissertation, or for a PhD Research thesis

Beyond Swansea University

Visiting other libraries

You may wish to visit other university libraries:

  1. Either for convenience because they're close to your home town
  2. Or because they hold specialist collections.

Swansea University is a member of the SCONUL Access scheme.  This allows academic staff,  postgraduate research students, full-time postgraduates, part-time, distance learning or placement students to borrow from other Higher Education libraries across the UK who are members of the scheme.  This guide explains how you can join the SCONUL Access scheme.  

Borrowing from other libraries.

You don't need to visit other libraries in order to borrow items which are not in stock at Swansea University.

Request any books or journal articles through our Inter-library loan service.

How to find theses

The following short course will explain how to find theses. It should only take 5-10 minutes to complete. Click the image below to launch the course.

EThOS : the British Library's e-theses service

EThOS has been created to offer a single point of access to UK theses and plays a significant role in showcasing UK research to the world.  EThOS, which is hosted by the British Library, has  more than 100 UK universities involved in the project and can offer an ever expanding range of titles as full text downloads.

Search the EThOS catalogue here.

If an item you require is already in EThOS then it is immediately available for download to your desktop free of charge; if not, then you can choose to purchase a scanned copy from EThOS.

Searching the literature

Once you have some ideas for a research topic –start reading. To get a general, non-technical overview, start with text-books or encyclopaedic articles.   Note the following:

  • Key thinkers and researchers on the topic
  • The various sub divisions of the topic
  • Current issues and controversies

Once you have a better idea of the subject, the specialist terminology and key authors, you can start your literature searching (and reading) in earnest.

Spending a short time planning will save time in the long run and ensure your searching (i) does not miss important articles; (ii) is comprehensive; (iii) only finds the most reputable research and best quality information.

Key points are:

  • Identifying keywords for searching
  • Setting limits such as geography (UK or other countries or international), and time (how far back you want to search - back to a specific event, or back 10 or more years).
  • Combining your search terms effectively.
  • Where are you going to search? (databases, websites etc.)
  • Recording your results
  • Keeping up date with new publications on your research topic.

At the beginning of your search you may only have a few keywords, with these you can conduct a scoping search (a brief, broad search) to get an overview of how much literature there is on your topic.  Based on your results you can then refine your keywords and rerun your search.

Correct combination of your keywords using boolean operators (AND/OR/NOT) will be important.  We have created a research record form to help you to think about keywords for your search.

NB: Some of our databases will also have Subject Headings/Thesaurus headings.  Using subject heading searches is an advanced way of searching for literature and can provide a useful, focused set of results.  Each database will have a help page with further details.

There is a wide range of information you may like to include in your assignments.  This includes:

  • Books - We recommend that you start with your module reading list in Blackboard to find key texts on your topic.
  • Journal articles - Your main databases to locate journal articles are EBSCO Business Source Complete and ProQuest Business Collection (two specialist databases for business, finance, economics and accounting) and Web of Science and Scopus (two highly regarded multi-disciplinary databases).
  • Grey Literature – This includes documents which are not formally published, for example:

Conference proceedings,

Government documents,

Reports from international organizations and specialist providers of market research, economic forecasts and business and industry information.

Company information

Theses and dissertations

Critically appraising your sources is a crucial element of any literature search.  Ask yourself:

  • Reliable? Who are the authors and what are their credentials? Check their Biographies and References.
  • Free from bias? Is the content based on robust research or is it an opinion?
  • Sufficiently up to date for your topic?

Further reading:

Developing Critical Thinking (Emerald Publishing)

Loading

How to use EndNote

EndNote is a software package which helps you to organize your references and PDF files. It works with Word to format your references without you needing to worry about punctuation etc.

Further advice and training dates for Endnote

5 days of EndNote is a open online course for Swansea University students that ran between the 7th and 11th of November 2016. The course covered

  • How to store, organise and share your reference information
  • How to create references lists in your recommended style
  • How to use EndNote with Word to insert citations and a reference list as you write your assignments.

All of the information is still available at 5daysofendnote.wordpress.com

Managing your citations

Google Scholar - this advice from Google will help research staff keep track of citations to their articles on Google.

SAGE Research Methods

This is an excellent resource for social scientists who want to find out more about research methodology for all social science disciplines, including business, management and economics.

Researcher Development at Swansea University

The SU Research Skills Development team provide training in transferable research skills:

Other links:

The Research Support team

The Library's Research Support team is based at the Singleton park campus. The Research Support librarians provide advice and support to research-active staff, whether early-career researchers or experienced researchers. Support is offered in the following areas:

Tell us what you think about Library Guides