iFind is the main way to search the resources provided by Swansea University Library. You can search for books, databases journals, articles and more.
The library has a number of databases which offer business and market research information.
Marketline Advantage is an excellent source for company and industry profiles as well as country profiles, expert analyst insights and other statistics and information.
Mintel provides good quality market research data and analysis from around the world. You can use Mintel databases to identify market segmentation and trends amongst other things.
FAME provides company information, financial details and analysis for companies in the Uk and Ireland.
You can find journal articles by using the 'Articles & more' search box in iFind. It cross searches many of the databases we subscribe to, bringing back some quick results for you. This is a bit like searching Google, except that the results will be from quality academic databases which the university pays for. iFind is a great starting point, but you for more in-depth research you will need to search our databases. The Key Resources page of this guide acts as an index to our databases so that you can find the best ones to use for your subject.
Need a refresher on how to search for journals and journal articles?
This tutorial will take you through the basics of finding and accessing journals and journal articles for your course. If you need any more help or advice use the Ask a Librarian live chat or email us.
Have you ever wondered how to actually get started on writing your essay or assignment? The ASK website will help you get organised and provide you with helpful guidelines along the way. Just type in your assignment due date, and you will be given a timeline to help you get through your assignment on time.
PCs in the library have specialist software which can help you to plan and write your assignments. Follow the link below for details of what's available and to see how the technology can help you plan your research, write your assignments and structure your work. Features include read aloud options, mind mapping tools and spelling & grammar checks.
Why is referencing important?
How do I reference? You have to do two things. First, you have to indicate in your text when you have used or referred to someone else’s work; this is the in-text citation. Second, you have to list all the works you have referred to at the end of your text; this is the list of references.
There are many ways of doing this. The two systems you are most likely to be using are APA or Vancouver.
The Vancouver style of referencing is a numeric system. Each reference is given a number as it first appears in the text. The number given becomes the unique identifier for that reference, and so if it is cited again later in the text, it will still have the same number. The first reference cited will always be number 1 and numbers are allocated sequentially. The number is either given in square brackets  or superscript1. All of the references used in your assessment should be listed in a section labeled REFERENCES at the end of your assignment.
The APA style uses an author and date in your text and an alphabetical list of references at the end of your work. The short guide should be enough for most of your work but the full guide gives more publication types in case you need them.
EndNote is a software package which helps you to organize your references and PDF files. It works with Word to format your references without you needing to worry about punctuation etc.
Further advice and training dates for Endnote
5 days of EndNote is a open online course for Swansea University students that ran between the 6th and 10th of November 2017. The course covered
All of the information is still available at 5daysofendnote.wordpress.com